Why I Changed My Blog Name

So for the past month or so I’ve been considering deleting my blog.  Surprisingly enough, when you put a ton of work into something and it doesn’t turn out how you expect it’s a little disheartening.

I love to travel.  Just last week I went camping out-of-state at Hocking Hills State Park in Ohio.  My roommate and I went horseback riding through the hills, tanned on the beach and Rose Lake, and explored the waterfalls in Old Man’s Cave.

But I didn’t have the excitement I had at the beginning about sharing my adventure, and that’s because the popularity doesn’t seem to be growing.

As I was scrolling through content yesterday, I noticed something.  My blog posts about travel were barely getting any hits, but my blog posts about my recent weight loss were off the charts.  It was what people wanted to read about (see one of my very first progress picture below), and it’s something that I enjoy writing about.

This made me really think about why I recently got so interested in travel.  Before this past year I had no inclination to go anywhere.  I realized that the reason for this was a result of my fitness.  Suddenly I wanted to go hiking and exploring all over the world, not only because I now thought my body could physically handle it but because this fitness journey has given me the confidence to pursue what I want.

Hiking is a form of exercise and a product of healthy living, so I’ve revamped my entire blog to refocus.  If a blog about weight loss, fitness, and regaining confidence is what the people want, it’s what they’re going to get.  If I do happen to go on a trip that I want to share with my readers, I still can because it’s simply proof to them that fitness can help in multiple outlets of your life.  It can increase your happiness, your confidence, and your ability to do things you never thought you could do.

I’m currently in the process of updating my Instagram (@squatlikeagirlblog) and my Snapchat (@randee_hartman) to convey these changes to my followers, so be patient with me.  In the meantime, take some time to think about your personal health and fitness goals (and share this on social media to help ya girl out).

Let’s see where this road takes me.

xoxo,

RanDee

SYXR4158

4 thoughts on “Why I Changed My Blog Name

  1. I have missed your blogs RanDee. πŸ™‚ I am so proud of the strides you have made in your life and the giant steps to come. Keep hiking girl. Enjoy your life for you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so funny! I literally just said to my husband, I’m thinking about changing my blog name. How many followers do you have? I’m at 120 WP followers so I kind of feel like, if I’m going to do it I should do it now.

    Like

    • I just started mine, so not very many. I figured it would be easier to do now than to wait until I have more followers. I would do whichever blog you feel most drawn to. Don’t change the theme of your blog to something you’re not equally as passionate about. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

