Finding Your Fitness Motivation

Okay, as someone who has been struggling with her fitness and weight for pretty much the entirety of her life, I have looked at weight loss from every angle possible.  Motivation essentially comes from having a reason to workout and eat healthy that outweighs your reasons not to and trust me . . . there are plenty of excuses.

One of the major things I’ve noticed is that everyone encourages you to lose weight and get healthy for the right reasons.  I’m here to tell you that I don’t agree with that whatsoever.  I am a huge proponent of doing things because you want to do them and for whatever reason.  Something you see a lot of nowadays is that to be successful in fitness you have to “do it for you and only you.”  And congratulations to the women out there who are strictly losing weight for health reasons.  Literally, good for you, you must have confidence of steel.  BUT.  I am sick and tired of seeing people being belittled because of their motivations for getting fit and prioritizing a healthy lifestyle.

Honestly, we as a society have prided ourselves on body positivity, but I’ve been seeing so much of people saying, “Oh you’re losing weight to look good in your wedding photos?  That’s not healthy.”  “Oh, you’re eating healthy because you want to feel better in your clothes?  That’s not healthy.”  Why isn’t that healthy?

The last time I went to the doctors they obviously told me that in the long-run I might want to consider hitting the gym more often, but that it isn’t impacting my health at all.  I am completely healthy as of right now.  Obviously that doesn’t mean that I can’t improve, and it doesn’t necessarily mean I have to make these huge life changes.

I am making these changes because of my self-confidence.  It’s actually kind of crazy.  I was much thinner in high school, but because of some of my peers I was very shy and never really stood up for myself.  I gained a lot of weight when I got to college, and I was still so shy that it was hard to make new friends.

And then I lost 30lbs.

And now I’m way more confident.

I’m not nearly as thin as I was in high school, but having that success and seeing myself progress has been really great for me.  I still have days where I look and the mirror and think I look awful, but everyone has those days.  And the good days outweigh the bad.  So I’m here to tell you to latch onto whatever you have right now that motivates you.  Hot guy at work?  Fuel the fire, girl.  Hot bikini you want to wear to the beach?  FUEL THE FIRE, GIRL.  Do it for the cutie, do it for the beach, do it for your health, do it for your confidence, do it for your family, do it for literally anything, but make sure that you go out and do it.

Because once you commit, it becomes an addiction and you become an inspiration to others who might need it — and that’s just as important as doing it for yourself.

#doitforwhateverthehellyouwanttodoitfor

XOXO,

RanDee

IMG_0116

One thought on “Finding Your Fitness Motivation

Leave a Reply

